Posted by: Rich | August 23, 2011

A Tale Of Two Stickers

This isn’t relevent news but something wierd hapened to me on Saturday that I thought I’d share on here.

In spring we had some stickers done, whilst searching google for something unrelated (insert tit/ass joke here), I came across a photo someone had put up of one of the stickers in Fareham, they have mostly disappeared now so it was weird to see it again so far down the line. I ended up getting in touch with the person who posted the picture on-line.

We met for a coffee on Saturday, I always get a bit apprehensive when meeting new people just in case they turn out to be a cop, an infiltrator, or a plain old dickhead. I couldn’t have been more wrong. I met one of the most interesting people I’ve ever had the pleasure of talking too. Super intelligent, funny, and inspiring. Someone who has lived through a war, escaped and lived as a refugee in europe, moved about a bit and finally ended up in our neck of the woods. At the same time they have been involved in organisations that would put most of us UK activists to shame. To say I was humbled is an understatement. As you can tell they made a lasting impression on the both of us who went to meet them, and hopefully we will be seeing them again.

Later on Saturday evening we met up with some more Portsmouth Anarchists and went to a punk gig. Typically there was a load of drunk kids outside, annoying in the way that you know you used to be one! A friendly ’77 style  punk girl with an ‘anarchy’ symbol on her back came over to say hello and weirdly enough she had the same sticker that had sparked the mornings meeting stuck on the arm of her jacket. As she had no idea who we were I commented on what a cool sticker it was, she replied that her and her mates at Fareham College had made the stickers and stuck them up every where! We were kind of blown away by the stupid lie, I was trying not to laugh, Andy decided to let her in on the joke and explained that he had designed the sticker, paid for the printing, got it delivered and stuck em up. She was drunk and tried to elaborate on the lie by saying she had copyrighted the image??!? we laughed and she went back to her mates a bit embarrassed…I was embarrassed for her.

I don’t really know what I’m trying to say here, the contrast between the two meetings was so huge, although I’m pleased the girl thought our sticker was cool and her ideas may develope at some stage, I don’t think it’s anything more than a sticker on a jacket. The person from the earlier meeting said they do not class themselves as an anarchist as such, but they were inspirational non the less… I would say that punk and anarchism no longer shares any links but after all this we watched Inner terrestrials and it was sweet as!

End of weird story, maybe it’s just a load of stuff that happened. 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

